Mountain walking track management: An Australian Alps Best Practice Field Forum Workshop Proceedings

Janet Mackay and Associates, June 2001
Mount Buffalo and Dinner Plain, 26-29 March 2001



In July 1986, in order to facilitate a common approach to management of the alpine environment. the Ministers responsible for management of the alpine areas in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Victoria and the Commonwealth, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in relation to the co-operative management of national parks in the Australian Alps. This agreement was revised and resigned in 1989 to include the newly promulgated Alpine National Park in Victoria. It was further revised to include Brindabella National Park, an additional newly created contiguous national park in New South Wales and, in 1998, Buffalo National Park, a non contiguous park in Victoria.

The Australian Alps national parks now include:

  • Namadgi National Park
  • Kosciuszko National Park
  • Brindabella National Park
  • Scabby Range Nature Reserve
  • Bimberi Nature Reserve
  • Alpine National Park
  • Snowy River National Park
  • Avon wilderness
  • Buffalo National Park

Each of the agencies involved in management of the Australian Alps national parks contributes to a program of works across the parks in the alps. This workshop forms part of a series of best practice workshops which have been organised and funded as part of the cooperative works program.